If a crew member is leaving the vessel you will need to end their contract and finalise their termination within the platform.
Step 1: End the crew member’s contract
There are multiple ways to do this:
User Management - Navigate to user management, locate the crew member, at the end of the user line click the three dots and click remove.
User Profile – Navigate to the crew profile by clicking on their name from the leave or payroll tables. At the top right of the page you will see a red button labelled remove.
User Contract – Navigate to the contract area for the crew member, either by clicking on their name from the leave or payroll tables, then click contracts. Click into the contract end date box.
Any of the above steps will lead to a pop-up box where you will need to input:
The crew member's final day on board
The reason for them leaving the vessel
Any relevant attachments e.g. resignation letter
Step 2: Add final salary adjustments
Navigate to the payroll table for the current month and add any payout or salary adjustments that may be necessary.
Payout Types –
Leave payout - to payout for any remaining leave
Notice payout - to pay the days left in the notice period in lieu of working a notice period.
More information can be found in the salary adjustments section of ‘Submitting payroll’
Step 3: Finalise the Termination
In the Actions column, you will see a person Icon labelled finalise termination when havered over. Click this to open the termination pop-up.
This pop-up will display a read-only summary of the crew member’s details, including name, position, department, termination date, adjustments and final payment breakdown. If anything here is incorrect, close by clicking the ‘x’ and modify the applicable information.
After checking the information is all correct, you can add any optional comments then Select Finalise Termination. This will then notify the team at Voly crew, who will follow up and start the termination process.
The system will prevent finalisation if the crew member has any unapproved leave.
Once finalised, the crew member’s row is automatically locked to preserve the finalised payroll figures.
Reversing a Termination
If a crew member’s row is later unlocked, the termination finalisation is automatically reversed. The person icon reappears in the Actions column, indicating that the termination must be reprocessed.
